Archive | April 25, 2013

What the $@!$!$!# is Gluten Anyway?

images (1)

 

Okay, confession time. This health quest of mine has led to a lot of changes, and one I’m trying to test now is gluten. I don’t believe I’m intolerant, but I suspect my husband might be. So, getting it out of his diet for a month or so and testing it later seems like a harmless idea. However, am I the only one on the planet struggling to figure out whether things have gluten? I get the “no wheat” thing. But it rarely says “gluten” on the label. Heck, it’s in mustard! And according to everything I’ve read, the list of names it could be under is extensive. So other than shopping purely for items marked gluten-free, what’s a girl to do? We tend to just unprocessed foods, so the veggies and proteins aren’t really an issue. But those condiments, canned goods etc, are really kicking my butt. Anyone have any tips on making this quest easier??